Skip to content

You Have A Gift! by Gene McGuire September 30, 2013

September 30, 2013

Armourbearer

 

“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning.” (James 1:17)
COMMENT: Are you familiar with the phrase: ” Talent on loan from God.” ? Some of you may recognize that as one of the favorite statements of talk show host Rush Limbaugh. When I first heard him say that I thought he was being extremely prideful and haughty. As I grew spiritually, I realized the truth of that statement. God gives us temporary possession of everything.  Of course the world doesn’t see it that way and many of us agreed with the world before Jesus opened our eyes. When I became an Agency Manager with Equitable Life I gave myself all the credit. Now as I look back through my “spiritually enlightened spectacles” I see things much differently. Well, my Heavenly Father graciously provided the talent and ability; but in addition He set me up with a wonderful mother, a brother and three sisters who continually prodded and encouraged me to achieve more and more.. . . by the way, they also spoiled me. Our Lead Scripture makes it clear that “talent” is not the only thing that is “on loan” from God. Have you ever seen a Hearst on its way to a cemetery followed by a moving van full of the personal effects of the deceased individual?
SCRIPTURE STUDY: Luke 12:15-21
UNWISE SAYING: HE WHO DIES WITH THE MOST TOYS WINS.
A WISE PRAYER: LORD HELP ME TO BE A GOOD STEWARD OF ALL YOUR GOODS YOU HAVE PUT INTO MY HANDS.
No comments yet

Leave a comment