Skip to content

Stand! by Elaine Davenport (Thursday, February 21, 2008)

February 18, 2008

finger-pointing.gif

The true test of what you believe often comes when trouble, pressure and the unexpected happen. Let’s face it…the unexpected may as well be expected because it’s always going to come. We just don’t know what it is. Even when I remind people that they are to trust God because He can handle the trouble, the pressure and the unexpected, they don’t want to hear it. The people that I associate with are believers and they know what I know. We’re not all the same, but they read, know and love the Word of God; but whether we pass or fail the test we face, will depend upon if we believe the Word of God; the Bible.

The bible warns us that we’ll face a problem, a challenge, a mountain…but it also says we win, we get the Victory; it says that all we have to do is believe.

BUT WHAT IF YOU PRAY AND NOTHING HAPPENS?

Well, yes…God does know all and He said: just stand! Read This:

Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.

14Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness;

15And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace;

16Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked.

sign_from_god.jpg

THE MESSAGE BIBLE SAYS IT’S A FIGHT TO THE FINISH: TAKE THIS IN:

10-12And that about wraps it up. God is strong, and he wants you strong. So take everything the Master has set out for you, well-made weapons of the best materials. And put them to use so you will be able to stand up to everything the Devil throws your way. This is no afternoon athletic contest that we’ll walk away from and forget about in a couple of hours. This is for keeps, a life-or-death fight to the finish against the Devil and all his angels.

13-18Be prepared. You’re up against far more than you can handle on your own. Take all the help you can get, every weapon God has issued, so that when it’s all over but the shouting you’ll still be on your feet. Truth, righteousness, peace, faith, and salvation are more than words. Learn how to apply them. You’ll need them throughout your life. God’s Word is an indispensable weapon. In the same way, prayer is essential in this ongoing warfare. Pray hard and long. Pray for your brothers and sisters. Keep your eyes open. Keep each other’s spirits up so that no one falls behind or drops out.

SO LISTEN UP:

Maybe you’re dealing with some terrible thing; but be encouraged. Satan brings something bad to everyone…but God says: resist the devil and he will flee. So resist…stand! Stand.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

6 Comments leave one →
  1. durbin permalink
    August 1, 2008 9:20 am

    Stand up for JC!!!
    Great to have that kind of way to see things in stormy time cause many times it’s so difficult to stand when you can’t manage your self to stand.

  2. durbin permalink
    August 1, 2008 9:23 am

    Stand up for JC!!!
    Great to have that kind of way to see things in stormy time cause many times it’s so difficult to stand when you can’t manage your self to stand.
    Oh.. by the way… I always remember the “PUSH”

    Pray Until Something Happen!!!! Amen

  3. peacefulone permalink*
    August 1, 2008 9:41 am

    Hello Durbin! Blessings! Thank you you are right. You know I’m not perfect but I learned to stand; because I have no other course…God IS BIGGER THAN ANY PROBLEM! Always remember that! Love Always

  4. November 12, 2008 2:11 pm

    Thank you so much. I really needed to read “Stand!” today. Everyone needs added strength in the battle of life sometimes.

    Yesterday, I discovered that Duanne Johnson was murdered. She was the transgender woman who was beaten by officers in the same jail where my mentally ill brother was held under secret arrest until death in 2003. She was a plaintiff against the jail, just as we had been before The Cochran Firm fraud, but now we are suing that law firm. Anyway, it really upset me that she was murdered. Until now, I hoped that folks who follow me only did so to intimidate me, although I never took chances. Now I am not thinking intimidation is the goal.

    Nevertheless, God chose me for this work – to help decriminalize mental illness. Sometimes it seems that I am such an inadequate choice that I take my eyes off Him and look at myself in all of my limitations, and I cannot believe it! But as peacefulone says, “God is bigger than any problem!” I know that – not just believe it. I know the truth of that statement.

    Why would anyone want to throw sick people in prison? The inhumanity of this is so sickening to me, that I grow weary with writing about it, reading of sick people being tasered to death, shot by police, killed in restraint chairs — it is so inhuman! But it is not really inhuman, because human beings have always been in a fallen state unless and until we come to know God and repent. So it is not inhuman, it is simply unGodly. So I guess I shouldn’t expect them to act any different – to have any compassion. There is money to be made in imprisoning sick people – over $50k per year per mental patient – so they plan to keep it up, rather than treat them in hospitals. Calif. has been ordered to spend around $230k per sick inmate, so you can see how much money each mental patient is worth to private prisons. Prisons have become big business, trading on Wall Street! Forcing prisoners to be slaves and produce marketable goods for their slave masters! Now they even may start back using prisoners – even the mentally ill – for lab rats for drug companies. I tell you brothers and sisters, it is too awesome to think of — evil!

    Most mental patients go to jail for simple things – vagrancy, panhandling, etc., but when they get there, they stay longer and are more likely to return. Of course, they return! The cannot “learn” to be well! They are sick when they enter, and sick when they exit.

    Pray for me. See Assistance to the Incarcerated Mentally Ill online. My brother died so that I would be drafted for this work.

    Thank you for your article, Elaine. I came here to be refreshed with music, and I found this helpful article that nourished me. Continue praying for us, Cafe Sozo! We work for the least of these, His brethren. Today, God strengthened me today through your lovely website.

    Blessings,

    Mary Neal
    http://wrongfuldeathoflarryneal.com

  5. Anzela permalink
    March 13, 2012 7:37 am

    Hi Elaine,
    I work for a university as a Research Assistant at the Psychology department. The image of the pointing finger in the very beginning of your blog seems very relevant for the flyer that I am designing to advertise our quit smoking study. Do you think it’s alright for me to use the image for the flyer, and if so, how would you like me to cite the image?

    Thanks so much for taking the time to read my request!
    Anzela

    • peacefulone permalink*
      March 13, 2012 1:00 pm

      Hi Anzela! How ru? We do not own the graphic. We found it on the net. If I knew the artist I would gladly cite the image. I am so sorry. Please let me know what you find out. Blessings & Love

Leave a Reply

