Skip to content

5 Powerful Scriptures on Persecution (Tuesday, April 1, 2008)

March 29, 2008

persecution_image250wtn.jpg

We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not driven to despair; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed; always carrying in the body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be manifested in our bodies. For we who live are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our mortal flesh. 2 Corinthians 4: 8-11

“If you were of the world, the world would love its own. Yet because you are not of the world, but I chose you out of the world, therefore the world hates you…. If they persecuted Me they will persecute you… for they do not know the One who sent Me.” John 15:19-21

For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.
—2 Corinthians 12:10

Matthew 5:10-12 “Blessed are those who have been persecuted for the sake of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. 11″Blessed are you when men cast insults at you, and persecute you, and say all kinds of evil against you falsely, on account of Me. 12″Rejoice, and be glad, for your reward in heaven is great, for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you.

Matthew 5:44 “But I say to you, love your enemies, and pray for those who persecute you

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I heard a powerful testimony yesterday. A friend’s daughter was being picked on at work by an Atheist and it had become unbearable in her eyesight. The mother began to pray specific scriptures for the Atheist. God turned their heart and they began to be ever so kind to the young girl.

Prayer Changes things. Please don’t forget.


4 Comments leave one →
  1. Brooks permalink
    November 28, 2009 10:45 am

    I am the only female musician at my church and has served there since birth. I feel that good things were coming my way and because I did not entertain certain peoples mess, I get persecuted and talked about, disrespected, and mistreat because I am not in the in crowd. I actually had one of the other musicians come up to me and tell me what he thinks I am about, or how I go about things, and how I may look. What I told him is, I am not him, and if I didn’t enjoy what I do then why I am I still here. He feels this way because he feel a little threaten because of how good I have become and people tell him about it. That is a little hating and what I tell people is they everyone has their style of play so I don’t entertain things like that and he does. All I want is peace of mind and respect and if I think i’m not getting it then I tend back away and let people keep talking til I had enough. These scriptures hit me right on the spot because it is the truth and not matter what we do, someone always has something negative to say, and we have to change that.

    • peacefulone permalink*
      November 28, 2009 12:11 pm

      Hi Brooks! The devil would have things to be coming against you so that he can get you off of your assignment…but continue to stand on the Word of God. Of cfourse, we are unable to know exactly what the dynamics are but we just want to encourage you to meditate in 1Corinthians 13. We have to love those that despitefully use us or our Blessings are hindered. The lack of love on the part of others is their price to pay, their cross to bear. We must pray for them…that’s our charge! blessings and Love

    • July 6, 2012 6:55 am

      THIS IS NOT A CAFE SOZO ADMINISTRATOR COMMENT; BUT WE ARE ALLOWING IT. (See our cooments at the very bottom.)

      Hi Brooks. I sympathize with you, but would encourage you to consider that maybe some of the things your persecuters are telling you might be helpful. Think of Tammy Faye Bakker and all the criticism that she got about her eye make-up. They were not wrong. It was a bad witness and bothersome to look at even if we did love her. She was wrong, just as Jan Crouch is wrong not to listen to her critics about her hair. Often your friends won’t tell you what your enemies will. It’s important to have a teachable spirit as a Christian. Don’t be so busy defending yourself that you hold on to things you should let go of like bad hair and make-up and clothes. If something is detracting from others ability to see Jesus in you, you need to consider that it isn’t worth fighting for. Remember Jesus dressed very traditionally. Probably because He didn’t want His outfit to detract from His message. “I can’t hear what your saying because of how you present yourself.” Love, Gmamidge

      CAFE SOZO: Our view is that you MUST PRAY for your church and the people that you serve with. Remember that YOUR SERVICE is unto the LORD not unto the people. BUt, also remember that NO MATTER their flaws…God loves them as much as you. As a former Social Worker, I know that people have challenges and so much going on. WE must be compassionate. And use the Bible as a compass…”a man’s gift makes room for him.: Try being kind…works everytime. If you are already kind…be kinder…it will rub off …All the best!

  2. Roger H Frost permalink
    March 13, 2012 9:21 am

    The good news of Jesus Christ is never old and never in short supply. I know now it can always be passed along

    Even after 40 years of procrastinating

Leave a Reply

