Skip to content

Associations! by Gene McGuire June, 2011

June 28, 2011
“But now I have written to you not to keep company with anyone named a brother, who is a fornicator, or covetous, or an idolater, or a reviler, or a drunkard, or an extortioner–not even to eat with such a person.” (1 Corinthians 5:11)
COMMENT: Different regions of our Country have different names for the same objects. For instance, in my hometown, Detroit, we call soft drinks “pop”; here in Virginia, the same beverage is called “soda”. When I first heard that term, I didn’t know what was meant. Well, the other day I was making a list of things I wanted to purchase from the grocery store and I was amused that, without any forethought, I had automatically written “soda” and not “pop”. I really should not have been surprised that after more than 30 years in this area I had finally succumbed. I probably had “crossed over” long ago but was not really conscious of that development.  I believe that our Lead Scripture warns us against fellowshipping with Christian scoundrels because of the same kind of “contagion”. We should fraternize with  mature, well-grounded brothers and sisters in the Lord. 2 Timothy 2:22 “amens” that thought when it says; “Flee youthful lust, but pursue righteousness, faith, love peace with those who call on the Lord out of a pure heart.” Of course, that doesn’t mean that we should not have anything to do with unbelievers. . .how else could we witness to them? However, we shouldn’t make him or her a “bosom buddy”, unless that person is a spouse; perhaps, by our witness, that spouse could be saved.
SCRIPTURE STUDY: 1 Cor. 7:13 – 16 and 2 Cor. 6:14   
 WISE SAYING: ASSOCIATION BRINGS ABOUT ASSIMILATION. 

Just a thought, not a sermon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

