Skip to content

Shaping Up For God! by Gene McGuire May, 2011

May 31, 2011
“I am with you always, even to the end of the age”. (Matthew 28:20).
COMMENT: As I have mentioned before, I was a school teacher in Detroit, Michigan before joining Equitable Life Insurance Company. After a lot of “book learning” we had to begin “The Real McCoy”, actually teaching children. Of course we “student teachers” were not just let loose on a classroom of children; we had a “teacher supervisor” who listened to our every word and watched our every step. They would check our daily lesson plan and evaluate each lesson we taught. The “taskmaster” I was given had the persona of a Judge Judy or Simon, the gentleman who was a previous judge on American Idol. I came through that semester unscathed, but it is a wonder that I didn’t end up with a bleeding ulcer! Well, almost 30 years later, I found myself in a similar situation. . . . although this one was much more intense. I was being observed 24/7. Well I know I am not fooling you because I gave it away with today’s Lead Scripture. As Christians, our Heavenly Father is always with us. But unlike my “Judge Judy impersonator” Our Observer is kind, loving, and compassionate.  He knows, as we know, that we won’t be perfect. However, He wants us to grow spiritually while we are here on earth; therefore, He sometimes has to
chasten us. But we can always count on His mercy and grace.
SCRIPTURE STUDY: Deut. 8:5, John 1:17, Romans 9:16 and Hebrews 12:6
WISE SAYING:  GOD IS SHAPING US DOWN HERE SO THAT WE’LL FIT UP THERE.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

