Skip to content

No Fuel…No Force! by Elaine Davenport April, 2011

April 24, 2011

15Study and be eager and do your utmost to present yourself to God approved (tested by trial), a workman who has no cause to be ashamed, correctly analyzing and accurately dividing [rightly handling and skillfully teaching] the Word of Truth. 2 Timothy 2  (Amplified Bible)


If there is no fuel to your prayers…there will be no force from them.  There is a lot more to praying to memorizing scriptures and having faith.  There must be   some time spent with Jesus, there must be some: worship, love, obedience, wisdom, discipline,  some consistency, some diligence…some devotion, meditation, forgiveness, some expectation and it must be constant!  There can be no self centering.

Oh, I could pray a good prayer and “sound good…BUT…”something was missing.”

Somehow in all of the busyness, I was moving away from studying the Word of God, seeking Jesus, praying in the spirit and worship like I needed.  My mind was not “fixed” like it needed to be on “things above…and it showed. 

I was skating through life going through the motions and something had to be done and I was going to have to do it so I changed!

I who should have had some deliverance in a few areas was coming up short and I didn’t like it.  I went out and bought an IPhone.  With that device, I was able to worship, to praise, to get the Word, to read and hear the Word and to get lots of instruction without missing a beat in my day!

That was all of  tools…but Jesus was the fuel…the Blood…was the fuel…my faith which was the instrument that grew…was my fuel!   The only way to have force was to have some fuel…I pursued Jesus and I found peace.


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

