Skip to content

DO AS YOU’RE TOLD! by Elaine Davenport Thursday, September 11, 2008

September 8, 2008

I can’t be polite here.  If I am somebody might not take these words seriously.  I can’t risk that.

I’m going to be real. That may go over many people’s heads but it’s my job to put it out there! Obedience is an issue that can save you or kill you. You actually know this already. The bad part is that half the people who read this don’t know how to hear from God. I just read that there are Christians who don’t believe that hell is real…so that proves the world is messed up and satan (no caps) is on his job. For those of you who do hear from God…it is essential that you get before Him in quiet meditation and find out what He wants you to do and where He wants you to go and How He wants you to do it.

________________________________________________________________________________________________

SIDEBAR

Ignoring the plan of God has led to the deaths of many. If I were to name names…I’d be getting death threats…and everything isn’t meant to be said.

______________________________________________________________________________________________


“Fear not, Daniel: for from the first day that thou didst set thine heart to understand, and to chasten thyself before thy God, thy words were heard, and I am come for thy words. But the prince of the kingdom of Persia withstood me one and twenty days” (Dan. 10:12, 13).

“We wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers… against wicked spirits in high places” (Eph. 6:12)

I just want to say that I wish I could give this letter to everybody; but I can’t. You’re reading it online but I also mailed out hundreds in the physical mail. How are you? I know that you’re alright no matter what you are facing. About two years ago, I woke up about four o’clock in the morning to get ready to go to early morning prayer but I was so dizzy and the room was spinning that I thought that I was still asleep. I had a case of Positional Vertigo. The person that has it is usually very dizzy and has trouble keeping their balance. It was not a pretty sight when it hit me. I was so disgusted when I realized that I was awake and going to have to deal with it. I had to press on. You see, I had faced much much worse so really this was nothing but I STILL wanted it to go away. I had to get up and just push myself to go to prayer. Dizzy and staggering, I went through great trouble to hide it from others as much as I could. I stumbled up the stairs to the chapel really wondering if anyone would think I had been drinking. It was the funniest thing that as SOON as I got inside the chapel…it went away!

When I left out…POOF…it came right back! It is the trick of the enemy; always trying to hold us back from our assignments. I could have had a pity party- in fact, I did for quite awhile to myself and a few others gave me sympathy…not many thank the LORD. (smile) It stayed for about 6 months and went away one day without notice. My work went on and I didn’t miss a beat. What a victory! I call it a victory and not a coincidence.

We’re soldiers in the army of the LORD. We’re on the battlefield and we cannot forget it for one second! Even though we’re collecting great benefits…we’re STILL at war and it’s a war that we win! This is a tricky war we’re fighting here and it’s serious. Soldiers to the left and right of us are getting wounded on the battlefield and some are being taken out and some are going AWOL! It’s crazy! There are a whole lot of soldiers out there without ammunition and some don’t have any armor and I mean none. Ephesians 6:10-18 gives us a good prescription for soldiers as well as other places in the Word. The combat gear is free and you already have it. You just have to put it on!

So, fellow soldier; you’ve reported for duty…NOW IT’S UP TO YOU!

1. What next?

2. Which direction will you go in?

3. Will you be faithful like Job?

4. Will you fast like Daniel?

5. Will you lovingly and peaceably carry the message of the gospel to the four corners of the earth?

6. Will you implement that witty invention that the LORD gave to you?

7. Will you love your neighbor as yourself taking care of God’s family knowing that he’ll take care of yours?

8. Will you obey like Moses?

9. Will you do all that there is to stand and stand therefore?

10. Will you move closer to God today…not tomorrow?

11. Will you pray like Solomon and Mary?

12. Will you save souls?

13. Will you recruit more laborers to do the work that God has called us to do?

14. Will you walk in love at all times no matter how you feel?

15. Will you do all that you can to make those around you look better and be better than they are never taking credit?

16. Will you serve the LORD and HEARKEN to His every bid?

17. Will you take up the cause like Paul?

18. Will you hear?

Oh, if only I were able to assure you that there would be no more questions, but there will be many many more. Just be ready to answer them for when you reach a level where you can search yourself easily and answer them with truth and ease you’ll then be ready to move from the front lines and up up up in the ranks. I’m believing that you can answer the questions and that you already are moving up! (or I wouldn’t have given you this letter…smile) It’s up to you! That’s the way God wants it…I know it! Be Well Sister Elaine

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

