Skip to content

Know Your Rights! by Elaine Davenport Saturday, September 13, 2008

September 8, 2008

The advantage or superiority gained over spiritual enemies, over passions and appetites, or over temptations, or in any struggle or competition.

Thanks be to God, who giveth us the victory, through our Lord Jesus Christ. 1Cor. 15. Noah Webster’s 1828 Dictionary.

But thanks be to God who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, my beloved brothers, be firm, steadfast, always fully devoted to the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain. 1 Cor 15: 57,58

Hello my dear friend. May God Bless you and pour His grace on you today and always! How are you doing? I have been thinking about you and praying for you. It’s not just a cliché…I have! I don’t know specifically what’s going on in your life, I’m just an ordinary person; but God knows and His Word says a lot to you:

Beloved, I wish ( I pray) above all things that thou mayest prosper and be in health even as thy soul prospereth. 3John 1: 2

For I will hold thy right hand, saying unto thee Fear not; I will help thee. Isaiah 41: 13

They that go down to the sea in ships that do business in great waters shall see the works of the Lord and His wonders in the deep. Psalm 107: 23-24

I love these scriptures a lot! As you can see, God has great plans to assure your VICTORY.

I have been waiting to tell you about an incident that happened in our house just last week. First, let me say that in order to have a Victory there has to be a battle. If there IS a loser; it doesn’t have to be you!

As I left out of prayer one day last week, I was very proud even confident that no matter what happened I would be ready for it. Everything was going good and I felt great. As I walked into my house; I had no idea that I was about to face a test. I came inside, fixed breakfast, went for a walk, got on the computer and then…BOOM! My husband opened the mail and there was a letter that really rattled him. When he told me about it I was supposed to be rattled too! It seems the bank wanted to charge us hundreds of dollars over a 57cents error. He gave the letter to me and it was my job to fix it. Smile. Fix this “hundreds of dollars problem.” He was really frustrated with me. The FIFTY SEVEN CENT DEFICIT, THAT TRIGGERED THE LETTER WAS ACTUALLY my mistake, my miscalculation. What to do? I took the paper and told my husband and son and said with confidence: “God will fix it, not to worry.” They sort of hung around waiting to see the outcome. (smile)

Now mind you…the bank was very serious. They had no plans to negotiate this matter. Did I send up a quick prayer to God telling Him to send troops or angels? NOPE….didn’t even think about it. These words began to flood my thoughts. “You Call The Manager, I’ll Call God!” Hmm, I thought; that’s the name of the book that I had started a couple of years ago. Okay, I said: “I know what to do.” So I called them up and got a very disinterested lady. I wasn’t distressed. I was very calm, expecting victory. I was thinking: “I wonder How God is going to do it (fix this problem) this time! “ I just like to marvel and smile at the way He goes about doing things right on time and may I add that I never really know how.

I knew in advance that I would have to talk to the manager as I was saying earlier, and that day I planned to talk to the CEO. I was very polite, but clear and insistent, I knew my rights. As believer’s we have certain rights too. Anyway, I was put on hold for customer service because I wouldn’t go away. They left me on hold for a very long time while they discussed my “case.” I “felt” like I was getting the runaround so I hung up. You know, sometimes “our feelings” can get us into trouble. But God is merciful. I figured that I would call them later. They called ME back to ask what happened and apologized. I talked to the Administrative Assistant to the Chief of the something or another. We had the cutest conversation. I’m so amazed; I never said the wrong thing and I made her laugh and as soon as she talked; it was obvious that I had favor.

She corrected everything and threw in some bonuses that I didn’t ask for! Oh, before I got off the phone, I PRAISED, I SHOUTED! I THANKED GOD! She was a born again believer! No coincidence! None.

Even afterwards, I was bold, I made it clear WHO did this and why it was done! When my next test comes (and it will) I will REMIND the devil of this Victory and I will RESIST him and tell him he can’t hurt me or anybody that I know in the Name of Jesus. Don’t get me started and try and stop me! I’ve got authority as a believer and so do you! Please understand that the purpose of this letter is not because I want to broadcast everything that happens to me; but to help you to relate these issues to whatever you face. I just want to encourage you to DEMAND YOUR RIGHTS…SERVE NOTICE because; …YOUR VICTORY IS NOT AT HAND, IT IS ALREADY HERE, YOU JUST HAVE TO CLAIM IT . Victory is mine, Victory is mine” , you know the song!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

