Skip to content

Don’t Blame The Holyrollers! by Elaine Davenport Tuesday, September 9, 2008

September 8, 2008

Ye do err not knowing the scripture nor the power of God. (King James Version)

Jesus answered, “You’re off base on two counts: You don’t know your Bibles, and you don’t know how God works. (THE MESSAGE BIBLE) Matthew 22: 29

Blessings to you my friend! Oh, what I’ve been through trying to get this message to you. It just made me that much stronger and determined to get it to you. I was thinking about God today. All God knows to do is to love us. He put each one of us here to do some stuff and most people don’t have a clue what that is. A lot of people don’t want to know because they are busy living life. Someone said Life is what happens when you’re busy doing something else. To a great degree that is true. Wouldn’t you like to be in control of your day? Isn’t it terrible when you plan to do something important and things happen to make you put it off?

I used to make fun of some friends that I had. I didn’t mean them any harm. I called them “Holy Rollers” behind their backs. We were friends, they were just like me, we had fun together; it’s just that they went to church all the time. It seemed like they just couldn’t get enough. I definitely did not understand it. They were very good people who kept life at a balance. The only difference was that they loved God and didn’t mind telling it. I had seen my fill of “religious” people set in their ways often to the point of being closed minded and I wanted none of that. Only my friends weren’t like that. They worried about my spirituality and my understanding but they never said a word.

When I started moving towards God, one of them called me and ask me to be a prayer intercessor for her. My response was: Sure, what’s a prayer intercessor? I had not a clue, only prayed in emergencies and had just worked my way up to 30 minutes a day and thought that was something. That was a while ago. The more I tried it, praying, the more I liked it, the more my faith increased, the more my life changed. I don’t know if people crack jokes behind my back, I love God and I’m not ashamed! If any of those people have a problem including you, I am confident that I can get a prayer up to God and get an answer. I had to reach this point, but I assure you that when God saw my heart and that I wasn’t just talk or pomp and circumstance, He moved mountains to get me to the point where I could write to you today. My message to you today is simple: SEEK GOD AND FIND OUT WHAT HE WANTS YOU TO DO!

I imagine that God must hear our excuses that we make daily. I guess we call it procrastination on the things that we are aware of. I just want to say God has so many things in store for you, so many Blessings, so many more than you already receive; but He just needs you to step forward and not to draw back, to move closer and just to say: Lord, whatever You need me to do, please show it to me, I will willingly serve You, just show me. Thank You for your love, Your mercy, Your forgiveness and for Your trust!

The bible shows us that we are living in the last days. We cannot afford to be unprotected and living outside of God’s perfect will for our lives. Please give this note some thought and act on what is important to you. Don’t put it off, your eternity may depend on your actions. Okay, that’s my time, gotta go. Love Elaine

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

