Skip to content

Where Did All This Joy Come From? by Elaine Davenport Wednesday, July 16, 2008

July 7, 2008

“But make everyone rejoice who puts his trust in you. Keep them shouting for joy because you are defending them. Fill all who love you with your happiness. For you bless the godly man, O Lord; you protect him with your shield of love.”

(Psalms 5:11 )

IT MAY NOT BE PRETTY BUT IT WILL SAVE YOUR LIFE AND PRESERVE YOU!

When I was in the world, I knew happiness. Happiness is on the outside. It had it’s fleeting moments. I knew contentment; I had plenty of that, but it was never full time. However, I didn’t understand joy. People in the world have a difficult time understanding joy and JOY AIN’T BORING! Joy comes from God. He’s the source.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

Outward happiness comes from pleasant circumstances and good fortune. When we get a new car or the promotion we want, happiness covers up discouragement for a short time. It is temporary and unpredictable. When our happiness is based on circumstance we are destined for a roller coaster ride. The highs are exciting and we feel we are on top of the world, but all too soon we are falling into the depths of discouragement.

Inward joy comes from knowing and trusting God and is based on His presence within us. It is steady and lasting. This joy defeats discouragement. Lynne Chapman

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

When I decided to take a closer walk with God; one of the Fruits of the Spirit given to me was joy. JOY IS ON THE INSIDE OF YOU. That’s why people in the world don’t get it. I’ll try to explain it so that you can understand it. I embarked on a journey. Only problem was I didn’t know where it would take me. I had to totally trust God. The devil jumped on my back every single time and tried to make it impossible for me to get around or to think clearly. Every step there was a fight and every single time I won. I didn’t do it because I am so tough. I did it because God is tough!

My joy is a confidence developed over time that allows me to know and celebrate my importance to God, your importance to God, God’s plan in the earth and so many other things.

I get joy in so many things that seem insignificant…right on the inside of me.

There is joy in praying, meditating and talking to God; knowing God. There is joy in obeying God; an exercise that I strive to improve upon. There is joy in being in a church service listening for a Word from God. Joy in seeing and being with people who love and serve God. Joy in praying with people whether I know them or not. Joy in knowing that my every prayer will be answered. There is joy in writing this message and getting the Word out and encouraging people to look to God so that their lives can improve like mine and so many others. Joy in tribulation; knowing that God will turn it in my favor. Joy is better than happiness. Happiness for many is a goal; momentarily achieved, a visitor who never stays and only returns when the next goal is reached.

So no matter what the devil does, no matter what happens remember God has given you the supernatural ability to have joy. You just gotta use it.

“Your words are what sustain me; they are food to my hungry soul. They bring joy to my sorrowing heart and delight me. How proud I am to bear your name. O Lord.”

(Jeremiah 15:16 tlb)

ARTICLE OF INTEREST: DON’T BE TOO SMART FOR YOUR OWN GOOD

Leave a Reply

