Skip to content

Big Church…Little Me by Elaine Davenport

June 20, 2008

Please note that this was only “my” experience.  It doesn’t mean it’s right for you or wrong for me.    To each experience we bring a “frame of reference” or a way of thinking that dictates why we do what we do.

(Not my church)

I had attended medium size churches all of my life. Well, not by today’s standards. They were great churches; where I first learned about God, however none of them were growing. We rarely got new members though in a big city, I can’t understand why? I guess there might be countless reasons.

We went to West Virginia every summer during my childhood. It was a small town and the church there was smaller and I didn’t like it. I think that’s where I began to pay attention to things. People seemed clickish and not friendly and of course, it made me miss my own church.

When I married, I moved away and needed to find a church. I found one, but I was no longer interested in the size of the church; I was now interested in hearing MORE about God. Unfortunately, that didn’t happen. I’m partially the blame. I wanted it all in one sitting and they didn’t do things that way. I woke up one day and could no longer go, I was burnt out by the way that things were done. It just seemed counter productive to my plan to get closer to God. We didn’t use the bible much in the service …no, not much.

WHAT A SWITCH!

We had heard rumors that a large mega church was moving to our town. I vowed that I wouldn’t go because I felt that I’d have to battle traffic, something I hate.

BUT GOD…

God began to send me messages to go there. Eventually, I went and got my healing.

It was a Praising, Praying, Bible Teaching Church. I was too Blessed! God had friends upon friends waiting for me. There was a lot of bible using and I had never known what a powerful weapon the bible is. It’s sad because a lot of people don’t know that even now. It was there that I decided to seek a close personal relationship with God. It was there that I became a Prayer Warrior. It was there that my husband gave his heart to the Lord. It was there that I learned so much and began to grow spiritually. I am humbled and thankful…please do not think otherwise. Jesus will come back for One church. It won’t matter if it’s a Big Church (building) or not…he’s coming for people in the Body of Christ! I understand this. It will be saints who love him and no matter where you are or what denomination…make up your mind to be a part of the Rapture. Jesus is the only way!

I’ll tell you why it was actually easy for me to go. Mainly because I had worked so hard at my old church that I figured there were so many people, I could just mesh in with the woodwork. I hadn’t calculated the spiritual education and Blessing that would lay in front of me. After getting to know God, I began to serve Him with my whole heart; in the church, outside of the church. What a wonder!

THE MYTH!

There is a prevailing myth that big churches give watered down Word…that’s so far from the truth at my church and others that I know! We all learned in school that there are no absolutes…not ALL big churches or little churches are the same because “people” are in them and people aren’t perfect.

So despite what anyone tells you…know that the reason I keep going to my big church is because I am being spiritually fed; something that can’t be found everywhere. People go to church for different reasons. No way can I say why they go. Granted that whatever the size of your church is…it’s more important that you be spiritually fed! That’s far more important than the size. If you’re not being fed; you better start praying for God to tell you what to do.

The Early Church was a Big Church. If you don’t believe me read the Book of Acts. I don’t know how all big churches are, but I do know that mine is wonderful! I LOVE IT! I LOVE IT!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. cornishevangelist permalink
    June 21, 2008 7:03 am

    Speak The Word

    Jesus defeated satan in the wilderness by speaking the Word of God, He said, “Man shall not live by bread alone but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of God”. Don’t forget Jesus was very weak and hungry; He was at His lowest, that is when satan comes to you saying it is hopeless, you are finished, it is all over. My friend the devil is a liar. David the shepherd boy said,” God delivered me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear, surely He will deliver me from this uncircumcised Philistine {Goliath}.
    Surely God will deliver you from your problem, so, shout it out “SURELY GOD WILL DELIVER ME” The Bible says,” “Call upon me in the day of trouble and I will deliver you”.
    EVANGELIST BILLY BOLITHO
    http://www.evangelistbillybolitho.blogspot.com

  2. peacefulone permalink*
    June 21, 2008 10:00 am

    Hi Friend! That’s Blessed! Thanks Evangelist Bolitho! We receive that! That’s what we believe…our prayer is that others will too! Blessings and Love

  3. cornishevangelist permalink
    June 21, 2008 12:49 pm

    Blessings to you to. in Jesus.
    Billy

  4. elisabeth permalink
    February 15, 2009 10:39 pm

    my, yall must have prayed really extremely hard God has done a awesome structure

Leave a Reply

