Skip to content

Get Aggressive About Prayer! by Elaine Davenport Sunday, June 8, 2008

June 3, 2008

Iron sharpeneth iron; so a man sharpeneth the countenance of his friend. Proverbs 27: 17

Recently, I had dinner with some Prayer Warriors. It was a delight. Our conversation was about faith, The Holy Ghost, our joy, our challenges and about prayer. We spoke little of anything else except for trading stories. One of our warriors from Trinidad began to minister to us about getting aggressive in our prayer life. A better word might be getting more bold or more confident. We revere God…and we honor and truly trust and respect Him, but we’ve got to change our thinking when it comes to prayer.

I prayed around the clock for my sixteen year old rebellious son. When he left the house to go out with friends often looking like a hoodlum… here was my prayer:

Father, I love You and I thank You for so many things. Thanks for the Wisdom that you’ve given to JOhn to stay out of trouble and to come home on time. Thank you for the patrol of angels that guard over him. In Jesus Name.

Then, I would go to bed.

Now that’s confident thinking. Let’s talk about confident prayer:

The fear of the wicked, it shall come on him: but the desire of the righteous shall be granted. Proverbs 10: 24

If Jesus is not your Lord and Savior; you’ve got some decisions to make; but if He IS….then you are automatically righteous and your desires (biblically backed) shall be granted….

BUT YOU GOTTA PRAY LIKE IT AND KEEP THE FAITH!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2008 6:59 am

    Hi Elaine,
    How are you I’ve been meaning to get around to reading your post and responding to your many comments. Thank you so much for your interest in my blog Marta’s speak often and highly of you and I’m sure will come to build our own relationship in Christ. Blogging is quite new to me but it gives me a since of purpose and that is an answered prayer because my life, is service to God and nothing brings me as much fulfillment as doing His will.
    You’ll have to forgive me I’m half sleep I wanted to finish some homework, post a blog and meet and great with you. I enjoyed your post on “Get aggressive about prayer” and your right we as believers some times forget or become passive about our God given right to lay Hold of the throne till God shows up. That’s all he wants is to see if we will search for Him with fervency and determination. My favorite proverb lets us now that God seeks to be sought. It reads it is the Glory of God to conceal a matter, but the Glory of Kings is to search out a matter (prov. 25: 2) its Gods good pleasure to give us these things but how Aggressive will we seek them out in prayer. Well I’m turning in may God reign peace in your heart tonight concerning every situation and circumstance, in Jesus Name.
    P.S. I’m the result of my mother’s aggressive prayer over a 16 year old “shownuff” hoodlum and now I’m saved and sanctified in Jesus name. So be encouraged Elaine and don’t stop praying he’ll answer you.

  2. peacefulone permalink*
    June 23, 2008 1:42 pm

    Hi Brother Tyson! Thanks for writing. You know Marta has written so much about you and the example that you set as a man of God and spiritual head of you guys household that I was knew we’d all be Blessed by your Blogging. God just needs us all to take Him seriously and share the Good News!

    I love your site and that Warfare Prayer Blessed me. I have to tell you that by Divine Connection I met Marta through Blogging and as a long time writer I’ve always been Blessed by her refreshing approaches to the Word of God, her humility and kindness, her diligence and commitment. I know that you both are like that or God wouldn’t have put you together. This year we all get to go to higher levels and we’re so Blessed.

    Your mom sounds like a really special lady I’ll tell you that. It makes me think of Joshua being strong and courageous and specifically following God’s instructions. We’ve just got to get the word out that the Bible is our training manual for a well balanced, favorable and meaningful life.

    Wait til I tell my husband that Marta’s husband is Blogging. Smiles. It won’t make him Blog, but it’ll plant a seed. He’s a king and I’m so glad that he’s in my life. I’m so Blessed. Together, we’ll serve mightily in the kingdom of God working to please God in everything that we do.

    Sorry to talk so much. Blessings to you! Love E

Leave a Reply

