Skip to content

I Have Decided by Amy Grant (Music Video) Monday, May 12, 2008)

May 10, 2008

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ednor (Andy) Rowe permalink
    March 28, 2010 10:03 am

    I was thinkin bout this Amy Grant song yesterday, and even quoted “I have decided…being good is just a fable, I just can’t ’cause I’m not able, going to leave it to the Lord…” to my daughter who’s lonely in Japan & dealin with her, and the church’s imperfections, not to mention reverse racism…

    Well, of course even when I find this site, and it refers me to the YouTube video of “I have decided”, You Tube flashes “THIS VIDEO HAS BEEN DELETED.”

    So, all the plastic (yes I love lots of the new music, OK!) “Positive” Christian Stations, and Mega K-LOVE conglomerate can NEVER play a song from the era in which I was saved (people gave me, lets see, Amy Grant, raising her hand and questioning EVOLUTION, in one song never heard again) Keith Green, 2nd Chapter of Acts, and I discovered Phil Keaggy myself…Well, I will never I guess hear any of those songs aired EVER again, and even find that vintage Amy Grant is no longer on You Tube.

    Not only do we throw our foundational artists “under the bus” as we give free mission trips to the third caller with an inane verse, but we increase the GENERATION GAP, in this way…The seculars find bonding with their teen children when they turn to Dad and tell him how cool Mick Jagger or some other decrepit person is, and how they love the Beatles more than their FOLKS do. The secular stations are still playing Roy Orbeson Fusion, The Beatles, The Who, The Beach Boys, and even ELVIS (yeah, I love Kentucky Rain) but we cannot play KEITH GREEN, who influenced a generation? Goodness, I cannot even hear NEW songs older than 3 years that I have come to love, EVER (e.g. 4-HIM, Petra, (except one praise song they’ll still play) or anything else from 90’s when I worked at Family Bookstores and soaked up the music on the PA 10 years aftrer I was saved, on K-LOVE. (Nor on the local moribund hippie-owned alternative which plays songs from OLDER than the era I was saved in, over and over again!)

    So, What Up here? Did Amy decide she could not allow her old stuff to be heard for free, and like Led Zepplin attacking the punk band that sang Giligans Island to Stairway to Heaven, she sued to get her song off You Tube, so NOBODY could hear it? I feel like I was saved in an era that may never have existed, while I KNOW that when I’m in the nursing home with Bill Clinton and he is pinching the nurses butts, we will STILL be listening to Simon and Garfunkel slamming Mrs. Robinson for having Jesus in her life and taking pills! What is this?

    Well, Christ has a very hard time making any changes in any kind of quick manner in MY life, so I guess it is only natural that as the church is making good recovery from once being the MOST SEGREGATED (racially) place in USA on any given Sunday, now it must tackle being the most GENERATION-GAPPED (artistically) place on any given day, now! But I’m tired of hearing my grown kids slammin’ the “sameness” of Christian Rock, as if it reflects on Christ, when there is so much VARIETY available. Can we address this? Can K-LOVE address this? They had 2 old fogies from the Ranch for years as morning hosts! How ’bout some music that would remind me that my past really existed. After all, a wise man takes out from his store new things AND old. And friends (not scripture!) recall that ONE is Silver and the other GOLD. Does Joni Mitchel have to teach US to stop “stokin’ the star maker machinery behind the Popular Song” (Yes, again, I love the new things, heard one just last night about Christ hearing the prayer of a soldier not wanting to die more than a hallelujah!)

    Thanks if you held on thru my ramble, but I mean it! Well, lets turn on some Apologetix – I can at least have a hint of history and of my past, with a GOOD MESSAGE !

    • peacefulone permalink*
      March 28, 2010 10:43 am

      Hi Andy! You’ve said a lot. Some of it we got…some we didn’t. We’ll address one subject of your is concerned. recourse” at a time. As far as Sunday is concerned’ it’s complicated. First, let me say that I attend a church that is multi-cultural. We embrace this. Bu the same token, we are the radicals who take God at His word. We make up only 5% of the Christian faith’ but are the second fastest growing church.

      When it comes to church…race does not matter…but everyone does not have that revelation. It is ridiculous…but I consider it to be a prayer point. I would ask you and anyone reading this to pray about this. There are infinite stories on this and thanks for the suggestion; think that we will cover some of them! Blessings & Love

  2. Peter permalink
    April 14, 2010 1:14 pm

    Maybe the song’s not up there because Amy’s canned her marriage and decided not to follow Jesus any more.

    • peacefulone permalink*
      April 14, 2010 3:29 pm

      Well Peter. truth is relative. God surely is more forgiving and the story’s not quite like that at all. Blessings & Love

Leave a Reply

