Skip to content

Defeat your problem in prayer! by Elaine Davenport (Sunday, January 27, 2008)

January 24, 2008

moving-jesus.gif

Romans 12:12 (King James Version)

12Rejoicing in hope; patient in tribulation; continuing instant in prayer;

Whatever your problem is; you can defeat it in prayer. I just have one question for you. Are you willing to do it?

You have to be willing to put the time in with God and get His ear. I heard a minister once say: there are only prayer successes and prayer failures. One of the early things that I found out when my problems were really really big was that I could take them before the Lord and get some relief and some peace. It was that effect that drew men in closer to the love of God, to enter into His rest.

Let’s look at some more scriptures:

Psalm 55:18 (King James Version)

18He hath delivered my soul in peace from the battle that was against me: for there were many with me.

When you have a problem; one of the most critical things that you need is peace. God assures you of this.

Psalm 29:11 (King James Version)

11The LORD will give strength unto his people; the LORD will bless his people with peace.

My Friend Yeap Chee Seng wrote a wonderful article called: TROUBLES? SO WHAT? (PLEASE READ HERE)

I Love this passage here:

In short, guard your heart.

20 My son, pay attention to what I say; listen closely to my words.

21 Do not let them out of your sight, keep them within your heart;

22 for they are life to those who find them and health to a man’s whole body.

23 Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.

Proverbs 4:20-23 (NIV)

Your heart is the wellspring of life. There are 2 important lessons in the above verses:

1. God’s words bring life and health to our bodies.
2. We need to guard our heart.

How do we guard our hearts? By focusing our attentions on the promises of God even if we cannot see them in the natural.

The devil only has one tactic – get us worried by pointing us to the negative circumstances around us. —Yeap Chee Seng

You have to focus your attention on the promises of God. You’ve got to read them, recite them, think them, say them, post them on your walls, your doors, over the bed, on the washing machine, eat them, sleep them. What is your objective you might ask? To get them into your heart. It will help you to stay focused on the truth. When someone comes to me and says something opposite to what the bible says; speaking directly to me, I rebuke it with the Word of God.

For example my son said: “Well, mom I guess you won’t be going to the store since you’re broke. My response is: “I rebuke that God takes care of my needs, if I need anything, He’ll supply it! Guaranteed!

So the prayer of faith gives one confidence, but prayer must be coupled with studying and meditating upon the word of God and ingesting this in your heart. It’s your decision, but the problem is temporary and you have the power to get rid of it!

Just remember that!

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

