Skip to content

Who’s a Goliath to you? by Elaine Davenport Monday, January 7, 2007

January 6, 2008

satanists.jpg

Jesus never said: Love your neighbor as yourself as long as they go to your church or agree with you. There was no fine print to that commandment.

* I am so thankful. I was raised in a church that never spoke against another church…out an out. They made little hints though. As a result, I had a built in bias against another denomination. We didn’t like Catholics. Somewhere along the line we were taught that they were oppressive. I was too young to understand or speak up. I’m not saying that we were taught that in any way. But that was a bias I developed and that I DID get rid of. We also thought that everyone else made too much noise in church. Nobody ever said it, but it’s easy to develop an “our way is the only way” mentality. If you let it; it can cripple you.

That made no sense. In fact, it would be years before I would realize that after all when it started; I was a child.

Eventually, I drifted away from that church, that wasn’t the whole reason. I just felt an urge inside me to know more. As a young adult, I decided to make my own spiritual choices. It was to be a long journey; but finally I landed in a good place. Along the way, I learned a lot. I learned that people who were in my childhood church were much like people in other churches who dropped little snippets about other churches. I think about the children of Israel taking 40 years for an 11 day journey due to murmuring and complaining and I say “aha!” This is what I finally realized: My love walk cannot be hindered by anyone else as long as I stay close to God. I have a duty to love everyone, even the people who feel comfort and more secure by pointing out the perceived flaws of others. I’m doing something about it too; I’m praying for God to pour His love on them so that they can carry out His perfect will. That’s my charge.

I am taking my time telling this story because I don’t want to be misinterpreted or for anyone in any church to believe that I don’t love them. This is a site focusing on Spiritual Warfare and this is why we are on this subject.

Let’s look at David and Goliath.

Goliath was an antagonist. He bragged that no Israeli soldier could beat him. The Israeli soldiers were intimidated, and afraid.

Now David was a shepherd boy. His confidence lied in God. God had delivered him from fighting a bear and a lion and he knew that God would do it again. So in faith…David picked up his slingshot and five smooth stones. King Saul offered David some heavy armour and a big sword; but David refused! He planned to use God’s strength.

When David showed up at the fight…Goliath cursed him and David told him, You have on all this gear ready to fight, but I come against you in the Name of the Lord God Almighty, whom you have defied and he is the God of the armies of Israel!

Then David hit him in the forehead with a rock. Not the 2nd, 3rd, 4th or 5th rock…the first one. Then Goliath fell on his own sword and died. How about that?
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

A Goliath has to be a bitter enemy to God. Anyone who isn’t is not worth our time. However, if we choose to make someone or some church body a “Goliath” in our lives; God won’t back it.

God is insistent about unity in the Body of Christ. For instance, the Apostle Paul encountered it and warned the church of Corinth:

Now I beseech you, brethren, by the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that ye all speak the same thing, and that there be no divisions among you; but that ye be perfectly joined together in the same mind and in the same judgment. For it hath been declared unto me of you, my brethren, by them which are of the house of Chloe, that there are contentions among you. Now this I say, that every one of you saith, I am of Paul; and I of Apollos; and I of Cephas; and I of Christ. Is Christ divided? (1Cor 1:10-13; KJV)

If you’re like David…consider carefully who your Goliath is…perhaps they are…perhaps not.

It’s Food For Thought!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

