Skip to content

Don’t Be Sifted As Wheat! by Elaine Davenport (Saturday, December 29, 2007)

December 28, 2007

blesschurch.gif

“And the Lord said, Simon, Simon, behold, Satan hath desired to have you, that he may sift you as wheat.” (Luke 22:31)

Yesterday, as I lay in my bed after 4 hours sleep and marathon writing, I was just too tired to get up. However, God had other plans for me. One of my biggest idiosyncrasies has been people calling me at the last minute. I say “I’m healed of that!” Stick a fork in it; it’s done is what one of my pastors used to always say. He probably still does, but God has assigned him to another country.

Okay, so the phone rang and rang. We don’t have caller ID but I managed to find out who was calling, looked at the clock and knew my help would be needed. However, the bed felt too good. I began in my head to make excuses: “I’m too tired, I’m not going out of the house today, my hair is a wreck, I have nothing to wear, I have no gas in the car, I went on and on. The phone didn’t care; it kept ringing. I’m so glad that I didn’t answer…I might have said the wrong thing.

Soon I heard a small voice. It was clear. It said for me to call the person back within 30 minutes. I was like: Okay Lord. Then the phone rang immediately. It was the person I was supposed to call. I answered the phone gracefully and made plans to get them to the doctors office. During that time I realized what a challenge they were facing and how tough it would have been for me. I repented in my heart, to God and in my spirit. See, the voices was a form of Warfare. Ever so subtle seeming so small. Just watch and pray.

I hope this story Blesses you. It’s true.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

