Skip to content

Find Yourself a Group of People To Pray With! by Elaine Davenport (Wednesday, November 1, 2007)

October 30, 2007

About 20 years ago, I made a joke about my friends. I couldn’t understand why God had sent all of the “Holy “rollers” to befriend me. I mean, I was stumped! Every single person that ended up in my circle was born again. I was in “church” at the time; but at that time, I had never heard of “born again.” Someone asked me if I was born again and I said: “Exactly what does that mean?” They explained that if I had confessed my sin, asked God to forgive me, taken Jesus Christ to be my Lord and Savior and had asked him to be the master of my life and to come in my heart, that he would forgive my sin and clean me up from any bad standing that I had with God. My response was: “Oh yeah, I guess I am.” Truth be told, I didn’t exactly understand it. I thought that just believing in Jesus would do it. It’s a good start, but not enough.

Well this new group of friends introduced me to many prayer opportunities, but they didn’t know nor I that they were just there to plant a seed in my life. I needed to know that moving closer to God wouldn’t make my life boring or dull but that it would be more exciting! That “internship” that I took being around people who truly loved God (we worked together at the time) taught me a lot.

Not long after our friendships were established…the enemy struck one of us mightily: me. Was I ready for it? Yes! Did I know it? No, I didn’t. God sent people from everywhere to pray me through. I was even teaching a Weight Watcher’s class and in my class was a woman who had a network of 200 Prayer Warriors and they prayed me through! See, with God there are no coincidences. Many of you have read my Testimony; but if you haven’t here it is: Elaine’s Testimony (in the middle of the page)

Okay, I survived and got stronger. After a couple of setbacks, I decided it was time to make my move. I got closer to God and I found a group of people to pray with! I found a wonderful group of friends in the bargain. I am so Blessed! God is so good. That has changed my life and given me joy! One of the Prayer Intercessors said the other day: “Just imagine, we’ve been given the privilege of ascending and descending to the throne of God to make supplication and intercession in prayer !” Bless God…it’s been a long journey, well worth the time!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

