Skip to content

Pray for the Atheists! by Elaine Davenport ( Saturday, October 20, 2007)

October 19, 2007

The most effective prayer is targeted prayer.  This is why I am calling on all prayer warriors to pray for the Atheists; especially in our country.  I know this is Spiritual Warfare; the very fact, that people are being bold enough to say that they don’t mind being denied an eternal life.  I totally know that people don’t realize what they’re doing when they commit to being an “atheist.”  This is whay the call for prayer must be answered.  

In a recent article in The Christian Post, entitled: Atheists Evangelizing in America: How Christians can Respond , all the answers seemed so perfect, but something was missing. I just kept reading it and reading it but I admit that I couldn’t figure it out.

Then, I sent it out in a huge email to my network and asked for feedback. Right when I sat down to write, I received the following email from my friend Carolyn. It said:

We really need to pray for them (the atheists) that the Light of the gospel of Jesus Christ will shine on them so that the bllnders can be removed from their eyes (put there by the enemy). On judgement day, the attitude they have now will be sooooooooooooooooooooooo insignificant. PRAY PRAY PRAY for their souls.

In whom the god of this world hath blinded the minds of them which believe not, lest the light of the glorious gospel of Christ, who is the image of God, should shine unto them. 2 Corinthians 4: 4

That could be the only reasonable answer. ..PRAYER!

SIDE BAR

I rarely get caught ever get caught up in comments on a Blog or column. Mainly because my time is too precious. However, I took the time to note the tone of the comments section. It seemed that the basis of some of the more stronger pro atheists points was about the history of a variety of religions and their roles in war. On that basis; some were implying: it helps to justify their stand on religion and ultimately God. I don’t think that could possibly be the main motivator, especially since “religions” are made up of people; and people aren’t perfect.

I was incorrect to attempt to focus on “why” people are atheists; it doesn’t matter why. I think the author was searching for ways to fix the “tragic divide.” Humans can’t fix it, it’s beyond our control. Prayer can fix it! God can fix it!

Why do I feel that it needs to be fixed?

That’s a really easy question. Anyone that rejects God is a lost soul and lost souls must be claimed. Please don’t read this and walk away. I believe in the power of prayer. Won’t you take a fraction of your time out to pray? Thanks

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

