Skip to content

Don’t Doubt God! by Elaine Davenport (Monday, October 15, 2007)

October 15, 2007

Well, if you don’t know who I’m talking about …I’m talking about the adversary your enemy……… lying satan that’s who!
I received a telephone call from my cousin the other day; we had a lot of catching up to do. She loves the Lord so much that I look forward to her calls. We had a candid discussion as we began to talk about how satan tries to discourage each of us from going to church or staying in the Word of God to meditate and study. It’s a knawing voice on the inside that sort of calmly assures you that it will be okay to miss out on hearing the Word. Even though we all know that faith comes by hearing and hearing the Word of God. That’s very subtle warfare! Very subtle. That’s a fact.

I thought back to the many times that I passed the big bible that used to sit out in my house and the voice that came perfectly timed which said: “You don’t have time to read that big ol book!” And then I, unwittingly agreed and said: “I sure don’t.” Even though I had read David Copperfield and Jane Austen with absolutely no gratification!

I thought about the Apostle Paul who said:

Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ; 2 Corinthians 10: 5

That’s our job, despite what’s going on.

Jesus had a problem with his disciples concerning this. When he spoke to Thomas; he spoke with love when he realized that Thomas missed the mark, not with any type of reprimand. I thought about how well some of todays autocratic leadership would benefit from this example.

Then Jesus said to Thomas, “Put your finger here; see my hands. Reach out your hand and put it into my side. Stop doubting and believe.” Thomas said to Him, “My Lord and my God!” Then Jesus told him, “Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.” John 20.27-29

WHAT IS DOUBT?

Unbelief, disbelief, rejection, denial, agnosticism, faithlessness.

Don’t allow doubt to germinate in your life! Don’t allow it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

