Skip to content

Hollywood (and the devil) (Part One) by Elaine Davenport (Monday, October 8, 2007)

October 8, 2007

I received an interesting email from someone who wanted to know what responsibility man bears if the devil is doing all this damage. That wasn’t the exact wording; but that was the bottom line. I didn’t respond to it directly because I am not writing to the glory of man but to the glory of God. After much prayer, I realized that even the skeptics and the unbelievers read this too even if they read it with a “different” mindset. So I was reminded of Denzel Washington in the Movie Philadelphia when in his role as an attorney; he often asked the witnesses if they could: “tell it to him like he was a 3rd grader.” That used to tickle me, but it just made sense. There was a time when I didn’t understand the way that faith people spoke. I just thought they were going overboard because I hadn’t opened my heart to God to the level they were at and I didn’t think it was necessary. However, as I began to desire to grow spiritually; I began to change and get a better understanding. My job is to keep telling you that the devil is real, the devil is realm, the devil is real; until you get it. He is the enemy, the adversary, the thief who comes to kill, to steal and to destroy. Stay on guard.

The Boogie Man wasn’t real, but the devil is…

I believe that the person that wrote the email to me didn’t believe in the devil. Man has a sin nature, but the born again man doesn’t have to sin. He or she is a new creation; old things are passed away all things have become new. However, the tempter is still there to tempt. It’s our responsibility not to be tempted. That takes work and it can be done. This is a war. We fight to do the right thing at all times and the tempter fights us to tempt us. My uncle used to tell me the boogie man was going to get me if I went into his room when he was gone to work. How’d I know the boogie man wasn’t real, I was only three. Hollywood has crowned the devil with a red jumpsuit and a long tail! Everyone bought it and he was reduced to a fictional character. The only problem is that he is real and he comes to steal, to kill and to destroy. When people imply that the devil isn’t real, then I know that they have been blinded. The bible says so.

See Part Two tomorrow

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

