Skip to content

Backed against a wall? by Elaine Davenport (Friday, September 20, 2007)

September 21, 2007

When you’re backed against a wall, you need the Word of God…or a friend to point you to it!

I had a challenge and my friend pointed me to the Word and I’m thankful for that!

The devil doesn’t want me to make you guys aware of Spiritual Warfare so he has launched an attack on me. Did I leave out the word: “again.” He figured he’s get me dissatisfied with working for God. (that won’t happen) He also figured that I wouldn’t tell anybody. Ha ha ha ha ha ha. I didn’t just tell a few people, as you can see. It’s “little” stuff. He tries to wrap it in great big boxes, but when all the paper comes off, the tissue and newspaper and graffiti it’s juat little stuff.

About two weeks ago, I went to a meeting and took some tickets to sell. When I took them; I got a check in my spirit about them as though I shouldn’t take them, but I did anyway.

Over that time period, I kept thinking about the tickets. Something was telling me to look at them. But, I overrode that thought. I’ll check them later, they’re safe is what I thought. Finally, it came time for me to turn them in or turn in the monies. I pulled out my great big purse, opened the paper where the tickets were stored and nothing was there. I felt immense pressure as though I was backed against a wall. I began to have crazy thoughts that were making me feel worse.

I became frantic. (I know; that’s not good and I don’t recommend it)I cleaned the purse out several times and went through everything. I didn’t begin to pray because I had been praying all day. I was upset when my good friend Patricia called. Patricia Saddler is a long time prayer warrior, called to the five fold ministry who is now in Ministry School. We began to talk and spilled out the whole problem. She said to me: “Those tickets are just pieces of paper, stop it right now!” I said: “You’re right.” She began to tell me to go to the bible when I have a problem. Immediately. To look up the problem and begin to speak that Word and to never stop!

She said: “WHEN YOU HAVE A PROBLEM SPEAK THE SOLUTION, NOT THE PROBLEM!”

Before we hung up the phone great peace had come over me. I no longer had a problem. I was no longer distressed.

Let me give you a practical example of what you can do in a crisis:

1. Get out your Bible

2. Look in the back in the Concordance.

3. If your problem is a health challenge; look up healing.

4. FIND A SCRIPTURE: If you find: By his stripes I am healed; say it every time that you are reminded of the problem.

5. Thank God

My problem with losing the tickets was that I was concerned about having to pay for them, I didn’t have the money.

Pat and I confessed: But my God shall supply all my needs according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus (Phillipians 4: 19) We also confessed Mark 11: 23 which says:

For verily I say unto you, That whosoever shall say unto this mountain, Be thou removed, and be thou cast into the sea; and shall not doubt in his heart, but shall believe that those things which he saith shall come to pass; he shall have whatsoever he saith.

However, I never found them yet but when I called my friend said it was not a problem.

See what I mean? I’ll be honest. I should have been stronger but it had been an incredibly challenging day. I don’t have time to tell you about it, and I respect your time too. I will tell you that my entire day was spent helping people and the enemy spent the whole day telling me that I shouldn’t have. One of the people a faith person was greatly distressed by “seeing” circumstances and I found myself “almost” mimicking that behavior.

We can’t go by what we see. Most of the time, I am very strong; but I would do all a disservice if I were to pretend that I’m not challenged. I expect challenges everyday and my responses from now on will be: (to Satan) Now what? Everyday I win! I have to keep saying it! “I’m more than a conqueror! YEAH! See, I hit him with the Word. You can do it too!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

