Skip to content

Is Road Rage “pride” or “warfare?” by Elaine Davenport (Wednesday, September 19, 2007)

September 19, 2007

WARFARE:

Sword Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. {8} Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. Cleanse your hands, ye sinners; and purify your hearts, ye double minded.

{9} Be afflicted, and mourn, and weep: let your laughter be turned to mourning, and your joy to heaviness. {10} Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and he shall lift you up.

{11} Speak not evil one of another, brethren. He that speaketh evil of his brother, and judgeth his brother, speaketh evil of the law, and judgeth the law: but if thou judge the law, thou art not a doer of the law, but a judge. {12} There is one lawgiver, who is able to save and to destroy: who art thou that judgest another?

{13} Go to now, ye that say, To day or to morrow we will go into such a city, and continue there a year, and buy and sell, and get gain: {14} Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away. {15} For that ye ought to say, If the Lord will, we shall live, and do this, or that.

{16} But now ye rejoice in your boastings: all such rejoicing is evil. {17} Therefore to him that knoweth to do good, and doeth it not, to him it is sin.   JAMES 4:  7-17

PRIDE:

Pride goes before destruction, a haughty spirit before a fall. (Proverbs 16:18)

I was riding to prayer this morning just before 6 a.m. and I began to think about Spiritual Warfare.  Spiritual Warfare is  infinite.  That just means it is continuous.  We can escape it; but that will be after we are raptured.

I was thinking about how we hear  scriptures about the devil  that most people know:

“The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly.”

John 10: 10

 Be of sober spirit, be on the alert. Your adversary, the devil, prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.

1Peter 5:  8

You’re not going to believe what happened next.  As I sat at the light; waiting for the traffic to change; I realized that everyone had moved over into another lane.  In order to get on the freeway, I would have to speed up, I thought. Boom, the light turned green and I took off.  The car next to me sped up as though they thought this to be a challenge.  It was set up for a race for the freeway.  I humbly slowed up.  I then moved over into a big space left for me.  The Cadillac SRX was flying ahead.  I guess they thought I might try to speed up some more.   It was a warfare set up. I could have easily had an accident had I chosen to “play” that game.  I was only going two blocks down the freeway.  Gas costs way to much for me to floor my gas pedal and I can give you a host of reasons why like the Apostle Paul, :

“…I keep under my body, and bring it into subjection, lest that by any means, when I have preached to others, I myself should be a castaway.” —  I Cor. 9:27.

So, is Road Rage Warfare or pride?  It’s both at different stages and we want to avoid it.  The world says it comes from stress.  Stress is worry, fear, pressure, anxiety; all are the opposite of faith.    Stress comes to everyone; the only difference is that for believers we can cast our cares on God.  He can carry the weight.  Remember that.

When faced with an opportunity to be an aggressive or competitive driver, don’t step in the trap.  Don’t walk in that door.  Step back, rewind.  You’ll be glad that you did.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

