Skip to content

The solution to “everything” is in prayer by Elaine Davenport (Tuesday, September 18, 2007)

September 18, 2007

Isaiah 65:24 (New International Version)

 

 24 Before they call I will answer;
while they are still speaking I will hear.

Matthew 7:7-8
“Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you:  for every one that asketh receiveth; and he that seeketh findeth; and to him that knocketh it shall be opened.”

Genesis 24:45
“And before I had done speaking in mine heart….”

 

I was sitting at home on Friday thinking about how the day had gotten past me.  I thought about that evening; if I would just be able to laze around and stay home.  I decided that I could and that I would.  Smile.  Then I remembered words the Holy Spirit had given to me in an earlier prayer that day.  “Don’t forget to go to the prayer meeting at Tanya’s house tonight.”

 

My friend Tanya had given us an invitation earlier in the week to an All night Prayer meeting at her home.  I had been before an it was crowded but I was looking forward to it.  I had said a prayer to the Lord asking if our time could be productive and that we could make the best of the time; avoiding a gabfest. (with myself being one of the guilty parties)     I did not plan to stay all night because  I have to be home with my family but I planned to stay until midnight since it started at 7: 30 p.m. 

Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.  1 Peter 5:  7

Right around 6:  00, I became very sleepy.  I knew if I went to sleep I’d be late.  I still went to bed and told my children to wake me up at the appropriate time.  Well, soon afterwards and I can’t explain it; I found myself scrubbing the hall floor.  Of course, it was good that I had not went to sleep because I wasn’t sleepy.  Seems we always get sleepy in the midst of good things. 

1Thessalonians 5:17
“Pray without ceasing.”

I arrived at Tanya’s house a half hour late.  I got a parking spot right in front.  Where is everybody I thought.  I got inside and only 3 people were there.  I knew everyone which is unusual because Tanya knows so many people; I don’t know them all.  She had a list of prayer directives and a book of flags so that we could cover every country in prayer.  It was fun.  We had powerful targeted prayer that night.  One of our sisters was leaving to take her high fashion business around the world and we had great fun praying for her. 

 
We prayed in the Spirit a lot.  A lot of people are afraid to learn to pray in the Holy Ghost.  They don’t understand  that it is a God given language that enables you to pray solutions to things that are going to happen to you.  Don’t tell me that you think that isn’t possible.  You believe that television shows can give you solutions, but you don’t think God can.  People buy a lottery ticket  that they believe has a code on it that will make them rich.  Most of the time, it doesn’t and they don’t.    It doesn’t have the code on the ticket that they need to win and they don’t get rich!   

When our prayer time was nearly over; we began to praise God!  We were so loud that we only quieted down after we realized that it was late and there were neighbors nearby.  We were so sorry and we’ll always be mindful of that in the future. 

Ephesians 6:18
“Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints;”

Now I’ve been praying in the Spirit for a few years now and staying close.  My life has changed dramatically.   Near one a.m. the next morning; I went home.  I didn’t know that the devil planned to attack me.  He did.  However the solution had already been prayed out in prayer the previous night.  I can literally say that the prayer saved me from falling apart at the seams. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

